How our gradings work

White to green belts will grade, on average, three times a year. Blue to third brown belts will grade twice a year. Younger students get a red stripe if they pass a grading and when they have three red stripes, they move up to the next belt.

There is a compulsory minimum waiting period of one year between third brown and black belt.

Students will be invited by their sensei if they are ready to grade, keeping the following in mind:

  • Attitude
  • Standard
  • Time
  • Attendance
  • Age (for juniors).

All gradings include:

  • basics
  • stepping basics
  • stances
  • kata
  • kumite (sparring)
  • bunkai (practical application of kata)
  • supplementary training
  • fitness test of increasing difficulty

White belt

9th Kyu

Yellow belt

8th Kyu

Orange belt

7th Kyu

Green belt

6th Kyu

Blue belt

5th Kyu

Purple belt

4th Kyu

First brown belt

3rd Kyu

Second brown belt

2nd Kyu

Third brown belt

1st Kyu

Black belt

First Dan